Security - Alarm System

Hi. I am very new to Hubitat. About to order one actually.

We are building a new house on the Mornington Peninsula and I am going to add a fair amount of smarts to it.

Does anyone here use the Hubitat as the primary alarm system?

TIA

2 Likes

I do.. But I have a lot of cameras as well.. But you will get a lot of opinions on that I’m sure..

2 Likes

Almost forgot.. Welcome to the community..

3 Likes

Welcome.

If I was building, I would hardwire for a standalone system. Even if you don't start off with a standalone, wiring after the fact is usually not practical.

I'm a conservative sort when it comes to security / safety items.

• A standalone had battery backup for all the sensors and alarms.
  • It is a dedicated processor that has little / no possibility of being "hung" by an input

• The Hubitat is the most stable home hub I've had. However with updates and the operator (me) fiddling with it things can break. Not what I would want for a safety system.

Just my 2Β’

4 Likes

But if you're going to have a hardwired system, isn't it going to also have to have professional installation with a monthly monitoring fee? I haven't found a DIY hardwired solution that is anywhere near practical as far as cost goes. All of the diy solutions out there are wireless.

Then what do you do with all the wires sticking out of the wall/ceiling?

Any standalone system, if not one of the wireless DIY solutions, is either going to cost you a long contract or several hundred dollars to purchase.

What you described is one possible solution but there are many more, depends on your motivation, creativity and technical expertise.

I have a standalone system I purchased on line and installed my self. It is a brand name commercial version. If the wires are already in place the main panel wiring is simple. I will admit the programming of the panel while not overly complex is tedious.

Option 1: