Saving and modifying a capability.* input values

Hi,

A newbie here, and with my maiden message on the forum. I've had Hubitat Elevation 7 now for a few months, and quite new to groovy also. I've got some programming experience, but for the last 10+ years it's been more of a hobby than profession. Lately I've played some with python and javascript.

I'm working on a custom app (* more about it below), where I have one input to select a capability.switch -kind of device:

input(name: "switch_selector", type: "capability.switch", title: "xxx...", submitOnChange: true, multiple: false, width: 6)

My problem / question:
In my app I would like to save the value (=the devide) of switch_selector away from it, and later on (after many page loads, user clicks and perhaps app hibernations) being able to restore it back into switch_selector. In the mean time switch_selector will have other values loaded into it, user modify them, and the results saved away.

To be concrete, I've tried saving switch_selector into a state variable, and later read / load the value back from state variable. I have managed to save something in a state variable, it looks like a dump of the deviceWrapper values. However, I have not found a way to programmatically modify the value of the switch_selector in any way, at least based on what is shown in UI. I cannot even "empty" it (=unselect any potentially selected device). Instead, switch_selector appears to always remember what was the previous value. This is at least the user interface result.

Maybe saving into a state variable is wrong approach? I tried to understand the childDevice concept, but it didn't appear as the right solution.

Any help is appreciated, for example links to code of apps that have solved this or a very similar issue. My searching skills and keywords have not given me the answers...