Rule Machine for checking unlocked doors?

I'm very new to using Hubitat and I'm trying to create a rule that will do the following:

1. Trigger at 9 pm every day
  2. Check if the front door is not locked.
  3. If it is unlocked, then lock it.

If I write it in psuedo-code:

when time is 9:00 am
do
if ( front door lock == unlocked) then
lock front door
end if

However, when I try to create the above in Rule Machine the closest I get is this:

Screen Shot 2020-07-28 at 6.54.58 PM

I'm sure how to interpret the conditional statement. Can anyone please explain what I'm doing wrong or a better way to create this rule?

Thanks.

I think it looks fine. Did it work?
I'd also maybe have the door check happen at bed time too just to be sure. If you use a mode you could trigger it with the mode change. As a secondary with a different type of trigger.

The other option would be to reverse that actions and say if door UNLOCKED then...

But I don't know if that makes any real difference.

The other thing you may want to consider is sending a message if it is unlocked at that time (or a confirmation of locking). Some people have used a contact sensor as a condition of locking, no sense of locking an open or ajar door.

Not sure if it will help your issue but you should add an "END-IF" in your actions.

Question, what is not working?
You could add below "Lock: Front Door " something for test, like Light kitchen light. or sumsuch.

1 Like

I think maybe the issue is the text in orange.

In RM after each conditional statement you will have a (T) or a (F) based on the current condition of that conditional statement and at the end of all statements you will see [TRUE] or [FALSE] based on the entire conditional action.

So for instance
IF (NOT Door locked(F) AND Door locked (T)[FALSE])

The door is locked so
NOT Door locked is false and
Door locked is true

If you AND those statements the entire statement is FALSE

You probably don't need the if statement just the "Lock:Fornt Door".