Rule Help Needed Please

Could someone help please. I'm not good at writing the If Then rules other than the basic ones. I want the coffee maker to turn on/off at one set of times M-F and another set of times S/S when mode is Day and notify our phones/speaker. I could write two separate If Then rules as I did for afternoon and evening but wanted to combine the morning rule into one rule. The first part of the rule M-F works but S/S doesn't. I added an Else and another End If. Doesn't work. I tested with Else disabled then End If disabled then with both disabled and the S/S didn't work so triggered both back on. What am I doing wrong?

1 Like

The very last If statement has the Off: Bunn my cafe before the wait until 11:30. So the off happens immediately.
You have away too many conditions in your If statement, it makes your rule way to complicated.
May I suggest:

Change "Bar spot 1" to "Bunn My Cafe"
Change "Kitchen Sonos" to your speakers.
I don't believe you need the Mode is day at all but I put it in anyway.

2 Likes

My guess on the mode would be so it doesn't trigger when Mode is Away.

1 Like

Good point

Thanks so much! I will make the changes. Appreciate your help.

I just wanted to add that automating your coffee is totally rad. Carry on!

Remove the first END-IF before the wait for 11AM. that END-IF removes the conditional, so everything else is happening. Make it something like:

IF (Mode is Day AND Day in [M-F]) THEN
	On: coffee
	Notify all the stuff
	Wait for event: time is 11AM
	Off: coffee
ELSEIF (Mode is Day AND Day in [Sat-Sun]) THEN
	Speak
	Wait for event: 1130AM
END-IF

(you can remove the time since it's part of your trigger)

Alternatively if you did want to make your conditions a bit more easier to manage, you could do:

IF (Mode is Day) THEN
	IF (Day in [M-F]) THEN
		Notify all the stuff
		Wait for event: time is 11AM
	ELSEIF (Day in [Sat-Sun]) THEN
		Speak
		Wait for event: 1130AM
	END-IF
END-IF