Rule engine or motion lighting

I am new to HE and would like to set up 2 simple automations.

1. I have installed a Ring motion sensor and through the Unofficial Ring Integration I have this device visible in HE. I have some sengled bulbs which are also in HE. I am using the motion lighting app to trigger the bulbs to turn on when motion is detected.

. I noticed that for some reason the sunset to sunrise timing is not working. The light turned on this morning after sunrise when motion was detected. Am I doing something wrong here?

2. I would like to turn on garage bulbs when the door to garage is open. I have Ring contact sensors on the door to garage. I am unable to figure out how to set up a rule such that when the Contact sensor is open: True the light turns on and when the contact sensor is open: False the lights turn off. In future I may also add a motion sensor that would override the contact sensor and delay the turning off till motion is not detected in the garage. Could someone please suggest how to set this up in rule engine? This is what I have currently and I know this is not right

TIA for any help.

Unless you're wanting to use RM for the garage automation to learn how to use it, you're kinda using a table saw to break a piece of balsa wood in half. :wink:

For the garage door open/close>light, use the Simple Automation Rules app.

For the office ligth automation, how close to sunrise were you? Could it have been just on the cusp? I have heard/seen here recently that some folks were having problems w/sunset-sunrise automations.

2 Likes

If sunrise/sunset isn't working, I'd first check Settings > Location and Modes to make sure your location (which Hubitat uses to calculate these times) and time zone are correct. If not, that's a problem you'd have in any app. Your Motion Lighting configuration looks correct to me, so it seems more likely that the problem lies somewhere else.