Ring: Hubitat vs Alexa

I am new to Hubitat and home automation in general. I only have one routine involving my Ring devices I'd like to set up for now and I was wondering what the advantages are of doing it through Hubitat vs Alexa. I would like to automatically Away/Arm (and maybe later Home/Disarm) our Ring devices based on our Geolocation. This seems really easy to do through a routine in the Alexa app, but from what I've been reading, there isn't really an official Ring integration with Hubitat. What are the disadvantages of putting the routine on Alexa vs Hubitat if the only routines I want to do with my Ring are around Arming/Disarming it? (e.g. not using the Ring contact sensors to turn lights on/off). I'm just afraid the "unofficial" Ring integration will be way on top of my head atm and a bit "wonky"; while doing the same thing on Alexa seems really easy to do.

Any action Alexa can do in a routine can be triggered from Hubitat.

Create a virtual contact sensor in Hubitat, for example "Tell Alexa to arm Ring". Expose that to Alexa with the Hubitat Amazon Echo Skill. Create a routine in Alexa such that when this contact opens, do the action.

As a rule action in Hubitat, simply set the contact to open.

I use this technique for countless Alexa integrated thingies from cameras to my vacuum cleaner.

If I understand you correctly, I would do something like this:

1. Create a virtual contact sensor called like "Virtual | Presence".
  2. Somehow link this virtual contact sensor so that if we are Away/Vacation (my phone AND husband's phone), then Open sensor. If someone is Home (my phone OR husband's phone), then Close sensor. This part I'm still trying to figure out how to do in Hubitat.
  3. Then in Alexa, set up 2 Routines that says "Virtual | Presence" = Open (aka Away), then Arm Ring and "Virtual | Presence" = Closed (aka Home), then Disarm Ring.