Reset timer

OK, let me start by saying I'm a newbie, so please go easy on me.
I have a rule to turn on my garage lights when either the door opens or the garage motion is active and then stay on for 2 minutes. That works, BUT, I want the timer to reset when it sees new motion, and it doesn't - it turns off after the first motion - it doesn't reset. What do I need to add?

Perhaps whatever your using for motion detection is not resetting itself.
I’d confirm that first.
Watch it from the Device page, or set logging on for that device and confirm that it is resetting.

Then look HERE

Instead of a separate delay action between on and off, put the delay on the OFF action itself (with cancel ability selected, too, of course).

Funny, I was going to post almost the exact same thing, except I had the delay on the OFF action already. I tried adding the cancel ability and it doesn't seem to fix it. The lights turn off at seemingly unpredictable times. Sometimes they come on for 20 seconds or so and turn off again.

Exactly what mine does - but that's because the timer gets SET, not RESET, every time it sees motion. So if you look at your logs you'll see motion active, timer set and then whatever your off time is set for you'll see a "Delay Over" which shut your lights off, and that could be 20 seconds after they came on.

I tried that and I now have this:

but it still does the same thing. I can see many motions setting the timer, but then I see many "Delay Over"'s corresponding with each motion, so I know the motion sensor is working fine.

Hi there.
Although you have put a (cancel) against the delayed off for the light, all that does is allow the turn off to be cancelled. You also have to tell it to cancel it in another action.
Personally I would do it something like this.
Use a conditional action of IF - THEN.
In your triggers I would have
Garage motion - changed.
Garage door - changed.
In you actions I would go.
IF
Garage door is open
OR
Garage motion is active.
THEN