Remote Zigbee Pairing

Disclaimer. I have no in-depth knowledge of the Zigbee pairing process and am hoping to chat with a developer who can confirm if this is possible.

Putting aside for a moment what functionality Hubitat delivers at present. Is it even technically possible to remotely pair a Zigbee sensor without physically being near the hub/receiver? i.e. back at the office, can I put the sensor in pair mode and sniff the key and then somehow update the hub remotely to use the key for this new sensor?

Assumption there that Zigbee pairing involves some kind of private key exchange allowing the hub to authenticate and decrypt Zigbee messages.

Backstory,
We are sending out a trial of a simple Hubitat/Zigbee based system to be installed by customers in their homes. We pair the zigbee sensors to the hub before mailing them out. We have VPN access to each hub and the hub is black box to a customer.

We are considering what's involved for a customer in the rare case when a Zigbee sensor fails. We cannot physically go to the customers home. The ideal would be to send out a pre-paired sensor in the mail and the customer replaces the sensor. At the moment it's a support call with the customer instructing them on how to put the sensor into pair mode whilst we VPN to their hub and put the hub in pair mode. Not great.

A plan B is to pair a couple of extra sensors we keep in reserve at the office for each hub before sending them out to a customer. Also not great.

1 Like

It would be great if I were wrong about this, but I don't think this is possible.

Out of curiosity, how do you deal with battery changes in your model? Because pairing a new sensor is only slightly more involved than that.

1 Like