[RELEASE] Hubitat MQTT Link

If you're looking for a simple to use and simple to configure solution for sending and receiving device updates via MQTT then check out Hubitat MQTT Link.

3 Likes

Very promising, this might help me intergrate with the openhab server that's used in the factory system on my RV....

That would be great. Let me know if you have questions with setting things up.

1 Like

Thankyou tpc77, the hubitat-mqtt-link software is excellent.

Im new to Home Assistant, Hubitat and MQTT, so it took me a while to work out how to connect them but here is a writeup which other newbies may find helpful...

My setup:
Hubitat v2.2.4.158
HomeAssistant v0.118.5
MQTT-Explorer v0.4.0-beta1
This is a guide to allow HomeAssistant (HA) to control Hubitat and assumes the above are already installed.

Hubitat setup:
Discover some devices or setup a virtual switch/sensor.
Create a new driver under 'Drivers Code', then paste in the device code from hubitat-mqtt-link/drivers at master · mydevbox/hubitat-mqtt-link · GitHub
Create a new app under 'Apps Code', then paste in the app code from hubitat-mqtt-link/apps at master · mydevbox/hubitat-mqtt-link · GitHub
Add a new virtual device under 'Devices' and specify type 'MQTT Link Driver', name it along the lines of MQTTDriver
Click on your new virtual device (MQTTDriver) under 'Devices' and configure the Preferences;
Specify MQTT Broker IP Address as the IP address of your HA
Specify MQTT Broker Port as 1883
Specify MQTT Broker Username as your admin login for HA
Specify MQTT Broker Password as your admin pswd for HA
Save details
Add a user app under 'Apps' and choose MQTT Link
Click 'Select devices' and choose devices you wish to access/control from HA. There is no need to select the virtual MQTTDriver you just created.
Click 'Notify this driver' and choose the virutal MQTTDriver you just created.