Recommend a home security system and cctv cameras

Hi guys complete newb over here, in the process of a whole house refurbishment and I am wanting some smart products that work well with Hubitat. Firstly I'm looking for a home security system with wired or wireless motion sensors. Secondly I would like some cctv cameras. Could you please recommend some products which are known to work well with HE.

TIA

Ibs

For cameras, get 4 MP or greater POE cameras connected by Cat 6 or greater ethernet cable. I have >10 Amcrest 4 MP POE outdoor cameras with absolutely no problems in 3 years of uptime. However, Amcrest's PTZ indoor cameras tend to have failed IR LEDS after a couple years so avoid those. If you are into VLANs, try Cisco SG350 series POE switches for power/data from Amazon which are under half retail price but these are from Europe so Cisco will not embrace the lifetime hardware warranty but that is of no concern to me for home use. If you are not into VLANs, get TP-Link non-smart POE switches such as the TL-SG1005P for power/data. Set up Blue Iris to control the cameras and get an i7 laptop (e.g. a Thinkpad T520 from Ebay for $250) with at least 8 GB RAM to dedicate to Blue Iris.

Of course networked cameras as such are not technically 'CCTV' cameras as you described, but I'm not sure if you made this distinction deliberately.

I believe Blue Iris motion detection can be tied into Hubitat, but I haven't tried it. Blue Iris has a great smartphone app and I don't feel it needs Hubitat for any of its functionality.

For security sensors with Hubitat, I tend to prefer Zigbee over Z-wave, and am slowly eliminating Z-wave from my HA setups for several reasons including 1) better battery life with Zigbee; 2) much more reliable pairing/unpairing with Zigbee, etc.

2 Likes

I selected leaving my DSC security panel in place and writing integration for it to Hubitat.
If I weren't doing that, I'd probably go with Konnected.