Reasons for a second hub?

Many people seem to have more than one hub.
What are the reasons for that?

1. I was a Hubitat user and just meshed my old hub when I upgraded to HE7 because I could and didn't want to put the old one in the parts box.

2. I am very knowledgeable and I needed two HE7's to resolve specific device characteristic issues.

3. I am very knowledgeable and needed two HE7's to accommodate speed issues related to smart home complexity.

4. I am very knowledgeable and needed two HE7's to increase geographic coverage issues.

5. I am not an expert but I now have a bunch of devices and HE apps and things seem to be bogging down so maybe two HE7's would help.

6. Other

1 Like

Might do this as a poll so that you can get numbers i.e.:

• Had one and kept it when I upgraded
  • Needed 2+ to resolve specific device related issues
  • Used the additional hub(s) to resolve speed related issues
  • Automation Complexity
  • Increase coverage area
  • Needed one for development/testing
  • Sounded like a good idea at the time
  • Other
  • I only have one hub but wanted to vote

0 voters

Note to self don’t edit spelling, etc in poll after voting is open as it wipes out the votes

Sure!

Thanks.

Also maybe add to the voting... "I have a bunch of shitty zigbee bulbs I wanted to keep out of my zigbee mesh but still wanted to use" :grin:

5 Likes

also should add have multiple locations (homes)

This was my reason. I wanted to move away from the Hue Bridge and also upgrade my Z-Wave to S2.
Since I got the C7 as main hub and my C5 as ZigBee bulb hub, my smart home have been working almost flawless.

3 Likes

Unintended benefit of having two hubs, when one hub became completely unreachable (error 500), having the other one available to get into my account and pull down/initiate restore was very easy. Wasn't the main reason I had one tho. I voted above.

2 Likes

I use two, one to manage multi zone heating for my home all zwave.