Rboy apps - Port to Hubitat

I know this question has come up before, but no discussion on it recently.

Rboy is willing to port all his apps and device handlers over to Hubitat but needs Habitats cooperation.

What is the roadblock in this? As a user of his stuff with ST for the past few years I think it would bring a lot of value to our platform here.

Would an email to support help feed interest?

5 Likes

It’s been discussed... pretty thoroughly:
https://community.hubitat.com/t/third-party-developers-like-rboy/252/34?u=sidjohn1

1 Like

There are "commercial" developers on Hubitat who charge for their integrations, including SharpTools (@sharptools, @josh) , Actiontiles (hopefully soon @ActionTiles), and @yracine66 (advanced thermostat/environmental controls integration).

I imagine they all came to terms that were agreeable to both parties (developer & Hubitat). Presumably, Ramit can do the same .... he does have an account (or two) here.

8 Likes

I have a lifetime subscription with RBoy over on ST. It would be nice if he ported some stuff so I could get back to his drivers and apps. Especially because he had Blink working before the axe.
@snell Has a great version but I'm one of the few who gets re-authed regularly, maybe RBoy had a trick up his sleeve. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I just skimmed the thread in the post above yours. My takeaway is Rboy won't give his work away for free, and that is against Hubitats TOS so users like us are SOL.

Which is crap. I get opensource. There are a lot of great opensource projects. But there are also a lot of closed source products that are worth paying for. In this case, I've already paid.