Quick question on updating Zigbee mesh with new devices - does the mesh auto update?

Hi All.

I am very new to Hubitat.
My zigbee network completely died the other day. I assume its as its not been "built" more "chucked together" as I buy bits. I plan on unpairing everything and starting again in a logical order.

The two items I've had the most issue with are IKEA outlets. They are less than a meter apart. They would randomly stop working. not always the same one.
I assume its something to do with my network.

questions.
1- is it necessary to pair "repeaters" before other no repeating sensors?
2- will a device update its route back to the hub when a new repeater is added, or does it keep its original route?
3a- do bulbs act as repeaters (gu10s from IKEA, phillips HUE)
3b - if these are not on, but are part of the route - does this muck up the netowrk?

THANKS YOU :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Not really, but the hub can only have a maximum of 32 non repeating devices (child devices). Adding repeaters increases the number and isn’t considered in the 32 device limit. Also, Zigbee is not “long range” and devices use less power if they have strong repeaters nearby to route through as opposed to routing all the way back to the hub.

Yes. Zigbee is self healing.

Yes, but some older Hue, GE, Osram, and Cree are terrible at it.

Yes it does, and can cause devices to lose connection to the hub.

I'd really suggest you put your bulbs on a separate zigbee network. I do this with a Hue hub, though I am not sure if the Ikea bulbs will work on a Hue hub.

Even if a smart bulb acts as a decent repeater, a dumb switch will overcome a smart bulb any day. And a smart bulb that has no power isnt a good repeater.

1 Like

If you are new to Zigbee, I suggest you get several Zigbee smartplugs to act as repeaters. Unlike Z-wave repeaters, Zigbee plugs are rather inexpensive. Initially, I used eWeLink smartplugs, but since have started buying Third Reality plugs