Proper electrician training

Hi all,

How do people here change their dumb switch? calling an electrician or DIY?

Having to grow up in Asia where we don't have a ground cable in the AC cable (I learned microelectronic back in high school, thus understand the concepts); can someone please suggest an official training (and certification) that allows me to fully understand the AUS cabling and allows me to change the dumb light to be smarter, while at the same time not afraid of breaching any home insurance policy.

Thanks

Unfortunately mate you can't do any work yourself legally. The only way is to become a licensed electrician. I have my trade and a qualified supervisors certificate but even then i'm still not supposed to do any work even at my own house because i don't hold a contractors licence. The contractors licence is of no use to me as my day job is covered by somebody else's licence and i'm not planning on working for myself.

That sucks.

In Canada we are allowed to do basic things. Change switches, outlets and light fixtures are allowed. Anything more complicated you need an electrician.

I took a home electrical course in our area and it basically talked about how all electrical wiring in the house works. Well worth it as I now understand and have no fears when working with any of the lights/switches.

1 Like

In Alberta anyway, this isn't entirely true. There are certainly activities that are restricted, but over the years, my dad, and now myself have done a substantial amount of wiring. My dad wired the addition he added to the house, along with the garage when it was built. As he developed the basement, he did all that as well. The only requirement was to take out an electrical permit with the city, and it had to be inspected before the walls could be closed in. I 'think' that an electrician is required to make connections into the panel. Can't remember for sure.