Presence Sensing

I am new to Hubitat and I have hit a problem with Presence sensing. I have followed all the documentation steps, installed the IOS app, created the devices, setup the geofences and set the IOS "Location" to Always but can't get it to work. I have another Home Automation app on these two phones and that reports their presence back to the program flawlessly.

I've searched through the the posts and see a lot of comments on this subject and a few work arounds. Does this mean that Presence sensing using the app is no longer supported by Hubitat?

1 Like

I have an Android phone and it seems to work perfectly for me. My wife however, uses an iPhone and the geolocation with the Hubitat app is ALWAYS unreliable for her device. Most of the time, it seems to track her LEAVING pretty reliably, but its the RETURNING that is constantly messing up. If you have a similar situation, here's what I did:

1: Install the iphone location app on hubitat and set up a virtual device for the phone in question.
2: Make sure the phone in question has a DHCP reservation in your router or has a static IP by some other means.
3: Use that IP in the virtual device properties to locate the phone by wifi.
4: Create a rule that essentially goes:
- TRIGGER - virtual iphone is present
- ACTION - Set attribute "presence" of the Hubitat-created Phone App device to "present"
5: Continue using the Hubitat Phone App device as the primary means to indicate presence.

This works 99% of the time in my case. Hopefully it helps for you.

If your wifi network is pretty reliable at your entire home, you could create a similar rule for departures based off the iphone app departure. However, if wifi is off or something else is wrong this would likely produce false departures unless you use a pretty long timeout.

4 Likes

Solid concept. IP detection is one of the only ways I bother trying to detect presence (other is deadbolt codes), and as you say, so long as WiFi is being cool it works.