Porting smartapps from Smarthings vs. Rule Machine

I am new to Hubitat, but a long-time Smartthings user. I have a dozen or so smartapps that need to be ported over from Smartthings.

Two questions:

• Is it better to try and port these over or start from scratch with Rule Machine rules?
  • From a performance perspective, would it better to have multiple Rule Machine rules vs. multiple smart apps?

If rule machine can work you'd probably be better off using it, if the app makes API calls to a cloud service you probably don't have much choice but to try to port the app if it isn't already.

2 Likes

It depends on the smartapps themselves. There is a general consensus here that Groovy code (if written well) will outperform Rule Machine apps because RM has a lot of overhead that comes with it. I myself have a ton of small, custom apps that I have written to do things that I just don't need RM rules for and they perform really well.

On the other hand, the RM rules that I have also perform really well. So, it's kind of a toss-up depending on the apps in question.

3 Likes

The smartapps don't have any API calls to a cloud service. Many of them are blingy things such as custom faders and logic that reacts to external stimulus (someone turning a switch off manually) vs. actions performed by the automation. Groovy is a lot more expressive than RM rules.

I also have cast-web-api running on a Raspberry Pi. I need to find the client-side equivalent for this setup in the Hubitat world. I have seen some threads on this topic; I will explore this once I have my basic setup done.

1 Like

Thanks for this. My current thinking is to do what you have done - use the current smartapps and later convert the real simple ones to RM rules.

2 Likes

Welcome to the Hubitat Community!

Youā€™re going to find that many of the simple things on ST that required either a smart app or webCoRE, can be easily accomplished with Rule Machine 4 on HE with no noticeable effect on performance.