Please critique my first rule

Howdy! I recently got HE and installed my Konnected and luckily everything seems to be working so far.
I am completely new to automation but I am learning as best I can.
Here is the first rule I've made and it wasn't as simple as I would have thought. I tried to use some of the examples here in the forums but they either did not work or did not have the options they did. This rule seems to be working flawlessly but please take a look at it and give me feedback as to how it could be more efficient or elegant.

The goal:
Announce the door opening
If door remains open after 2 minutes, ask for it to be closed,
If the door remains open, repeat request every 5 minutes.
If the door is closed immediately cancel the repeat and finish the rule.

Thanks!

Wayne

Let's see:

If you open and close the door twice the rule will now be running twice and you'll have the rule looping twice. Do it 3 times and you'll have it running 3 times.

To avoid you can handle a door close and cancel the delay and repeats at the top level instead of in the repeat. Maybe something like this, I removed the delay to use the time from the repeat...to avoid having to cancel the delay/repeat. (does it run once right away? can't remember)

if (door open) then
  say door open
  repeat every 00:05:00 (cancel)
    say close door
else if(door close) then
  cancel repeat
end if
1 Like

Here's a rule that I have that does sort of the same thing.

If the front door is unlocked, it sends a message after 5 minutes (that's what the POST does).

It then waits 7 minutes, and the repeats having Alexa announce that the door is open 5 times every two minutes. (The virtual contact sensor is an Alexa trigger.)

Then it locks the front door.

If at any time the door is locked, the delays and repeats are cancelled.

1 Like

Well, I'm not the best at this, so the other guys will probably critique me too, and that's fine with me. It's how we learn.