Philips Hue motion sensor working with Hubitat

I have a Hue Motion Sensor and I would like to integrate it in Hubitat.
Is there a way to get that working?

If the motion sensor is currently paired to a Hue bridge, you can reset it, and then pair it directly to Hubitat. Both the Hue Indoor and Outdoor motion sensors work well with Hubitat.

1 Like

Thanks I didn't know it is that easy.

1 Like

Yup. There is a built-in driver called "Hue Motion Sensor" for these sensors. This driver exposes all the capabilities of these sensors (motion/illuminance/temperature).

I have a Hue hub, but when I recently added three Hue motion sensors to my setup, I paired them directly with my Hubitat C7 hub. The work very well paired directly.

Hello Where can I find Hue motion sensor driver? I tried to search it in apps and drivers but couldn’t find it. I am new to Hubitat community so sorry for the stupid question. TIA.

Welcome to the Hubitat Community site!

The Hue motion sensor driver is is a built-in driver. So when you pair a Hue motion sensor to Hubitat, it will automatically be assigned to the new device that is created.

As an aside, the source code to the vast majority of built-in drivers and apps is not made available. There are examples of drivers and apps in Hubitat's GitHub repository, linked to below:

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your help.

I’m am thinking of getting my first motion/sensor. It seems the Hue gets solid marks here and great marks on Amazon. I do have a few questions:

1. I have absolutely no other Zigbee devices and my C7 hub would be about 20-30 feet away in another room in a 1 floor condo unit. Should it be able to connect?

2. I want this for a front hallway that can be dark, even during the day. What Hubitat app would I use to set up an automation based on detected motion and lux level? Would I use Rule Machine or something else?

3. Is there a general guide someplace that would give me some idea of what to set the lux trigger point to?