OTA Update for zwave and zigbee using the C5 hub

Hi,

I'm a little new to the Hubitat game. I'd like to update the firmware on a bunch of my switches and devices that are a bit older. I see that before the C5, if I had a separate Z-Wave USB stick I could unplug that from my hub and into a Windows PC to run the updates. With the C5 hub, I'd have to exclude and then later re-include all of my devices (well over 50 total now). Being able to run these updates through the HE C5 would be an amazing option.

I recognize that this is likely low (or perhaps not even yet) on the roadmap.

Thank you for your consideration!

3 Likes

I don't know if my suggestion will work, so it is speculative. You could always get a zwave stick, add it as a secondary controller to HE, and then use it with a Windows PC to upload firmware updates without unpairing/re-pairing.

I have the smartstick+.

How can I do this?

Go buy the HomeSeer OTA firmware app. Then you can do this.

1 Like

Cool - and with their 50% off sale right now it was a no-brainer. Thanks for the tip!

1 Like

How do you make them talk to each other though?

If you have the drivers to get your USB up and running then all you need to do is launch the HomeSeer app and enable the USB stick. Once that happens put your HE hub into discovery mode. Then click Add/Remove in HomeSeer and your USB stick will be added to your ZWave mesh.

1 Like

Thanks, I got it working. Updating two GE devices.

So it's obvious that HomeSeer doesn't get their hands on all firmware updates? I have two outdoor Jasco devices. It doesn't appear to have any firmware files for these?

I have learned that Jasco and Zooz provide firmware updates through email. If you reachout to them they usually send the firmware. That is how I got the Zooz 2.0 powers trip update.

How did you update GE devices, the Z-Flash software does not state that it includes any FW for GE devices according to this article?