OT: Arduino Leak Sensor Question

Question to the smart people on here that are Arduino aficionados.

If one wanted to make a cheap/easy water leak sensor couldn't you just:

1. Configure a DI pin with input_pullup
  2. Run two not connected wires in the area you want to detect water - one wired to the input pin (with pullup resistor enabled) and the other to ground.

When there is water, you would basically make a short between ground and the input pin (same thing a switch does when you wire a switch to an input pin w/pullup).

Not the best way to do it if the arduino were battery operated, but if powered I can't think of any reason this couldn't be done this way. But that's why I'm asking for comments. :slight_smile:

I'm no engineer but the biggest problem is that water has resistance and unless your water has a high mineral content it just won't be able able to overcome the resistance of water and is very unreliable if it does. You need some kind of signal amplifier to be able to detect it and that is why many water detector circuits will use the analog input to determine the presence of water.

1 Like

Yeah, that is true. I was thinking about that as well / reading up on a few discussions on that topic. Might need a more complex sensor setup in the end (which is what I was hoping to avoid).

I'm perfectly capable of doing so, and will if needed, was just trying to be lazy. Could likely do it with a simple resistive divider + analog input, for example. Would want to make it a switched power source though to avoid electrolysis.

I believe if you open most leak detectors, yes, you see electrical contacts that get shorted by water. The problem, though, is that your proposed solution would need a low-impedance driver to drive back to your contact sensor.

For that reason, I believe most leak detectors have the pair of contacts feed a high impedance op amp, which necessarily has a low impedance output to drive sensor inputs.

1 Like