Options for Large Touchscreen Display

I've run out of screen real estate on my 10" tablet. I'd like to have a 15" or even 20" touchscreen display to mount on the wall.

Seems like Android tablets mostly max out at a 10" screen so I'm contemplating running a 15" portable monitor with a 4GB Raspberry Pi 4. I have no experience with Raspberry Pi's but I can definitely figure it out.

Wondering if anyone is doing anythign similar or has any other ideas for displays larger than a 10" Tablet? Is a 4GB Raspberry Pi 4 up to running an 15" 1080P screen, displaying a Sharptools dashboard with a few live camera feeds running?

I am using an Odroid C4 to drive a 15.6” Asus Zenscreen Touch. Display my Sharptools dashboard with it, although I don’t keep any live camera feeds on it. I wanted a large display with thin bezels, as well as something that could just be stuck on the wall flat without sticking out much from the wall. When it works, it’s awesome. It’s pretty finicky, though, so I have to unplug and replug the USB cables every now and then. Probably wouldn’t recommend the exact same setup unless you are willing to fiddle with it, but I haven’t found anything else that would work better yet. Interested to hear if anyone else has.

Getting sufficient power to these portable monitors, without draining their batteries, seems to be challenging. The Zenscreen requires a lot of juice. Have to use the right USB cables or else it won’t supply enough power.

2 Likes

There used to be a company that made 20" tablets... Cannot find the name or remember it now but by this point those are all ancient and they were pretty delicate.

Depending on budget there is stuff like this:
https://www.geekland.co/32-Large-Android-Tablet-for-Menu-Boards-Digital-Signage-Apps-GK-RK-32.htm?gclid=CjwKCAjwp_GJBhBmEiwALWBQk4rdvFE42r_trQvLCC1BFMB4y0UFBQLKtzMQLLSp9C6GQO-pgLC3nxoC7XkQAvD_BwE