Option to purge old logs during firmware update.(another request)

Power to the people! Exercise your power to vote! :roll_eyes:

....

...

Sigh...

Uh?

The phrase “Exercise your power to…” means to actively use your ability, authority, rights, or influence to accomplish something. In this context, exercise is a verb meaning to put into action or to make use of.

I know... I was using the alternative meaning for comedic effect... (badly). If I'd been quicker I could have removed it :slight_smile:

Ah… I missed the humorous part. (Thought maybe it had a different meaning down under.)

LOL... No...

I clicked it again. Number went down. Lol

Did you figure out how the voting works?

You’re supposed to click on the ^ top left of first post AFAIK.

4 have successfully voted.

I usually don't clear my logs after a firmware update reboot just in case I want to compare before / after.

But choice is good...

I see what you are doing here. You are trying to build up the votes, aren't you? I had to vote to make sure is working :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Jokes aside, I think the Me too button they added in the last update is confusing users.

Clicking on the Me too is not counting towards the votes. Clicking on the arrow next to the title is:

Update: the Me too button has been disabled

No. Ha ha. I had actually voted. He thought I hadn’t. So I voted again, which was actually then was an un-vote (decremented the count lol).

Anyway, it is confusing.

I do think the option is harmless and helpful to some.

I think the question is what does this ask really accomplish other then a momentary reduction of the device/app list reduction in the past logs page.

If that is your goal what about simply removing that list of links and just using the drop down filter only. That seems like it would be just as good of a option

The interesting thing about data like logs is that it is easy to ignore, but once it is gone it is gone. I would much rather have it and ignore it vs need it for some reason and it be gone.

I am in the same boat as @rlithgow1 in that i keep logs externally from the hub. Mainly because in my case my logs only stay on the hub for about 48 hours before they naturally roll off the hub and are deleted. That said my retention is only 90 days.

I personally don't see the point in this request mainly for the reason listed above. If it did get on the list of things to do i would hope the priority is very low below other functional things like improvements to built in apps and such.

IF the ONLY names that appear at the top of the log were the “current” names of apps/devices whose entries have not dropped off the log, and this was updated in real time, it would be the perfect solution for me.

But, as I understand it, that would, for some reason, be technically “impossible”.

So, I restart to “clean up” every so often. All I’m asking is for the option to do it during updates, since I’m “restarting” anyway.

Not asking nor suggesting to require anyone who doesn’t want a neat and tidy past log view to use such an option.

You can do that by using the reload in past logs. It will update the name to current name.

And will the ‘stale’ names (corresponding entry dropped off) go away?

I know that I’m being picky here but the red text doesn’t go away upon reload.

And the RE is currently true.

Yes if they are no longer in the past log file.

It doesn't go away becuase it is still in the "Past Logs" file. It is probably old enough that it doesn't show up on the initial load, but is further down in the file. You would need to click on Show more a bit for it to appear.

This is why i think that top section is actually a bit of a headache and not useful. I would expect if that list across the top went away and you jused used the drop down to filter it would be less of a issue.

It almost sounds like you would be happier as well if you can just simply adjust the size of the Past Log file to make things drop out faster.

Honestly i am not really concerned about this since I have it dump to a external DB. I just wouldn't want this ask to slow down functional improvements/changes.

This I agree with wholeheartedly. I’m sure the HE development team will determine if it is a “trivial” addition or not and prioritize appropriately.

I usually clear mine so I can easily search for any new errors in the past logs after an update