Option to purge old logs during firmware update.(another request)

Maybe I’m not the only one, but I find it every time I do an update of the firmware, the next thing I do is reboot with the option to purge the old logs .

Seems like it should be an easy thing to do since you’re restarting anyway. Could be an option on the update command page.

Anyone else agree? If so, please VOTE. :heart:’s don’t count as votes! You need to vote up here

I don't ever do this... I guess because I always want the option to go back and compare to logs before the update (e.g., if something isn't acting the same).

I don’t have the need as I agree the logs are a good thing to have after a firmware update.

BUT… I don’t see the harm in the option being available for those that want it.

I never liked updating and then rebooting again to clear logs.

If you agree, why not VOTE yes?

I mean what's the point of clearing the logs anyway? Especially when doing diagnostics?

  1. Some of us are just very tidy.

  2. After a while, the device/app name area gets so big you can’t see the logs.

  3. If you rename something for clarity (see also #1) the name doesn’t change in log.

  4. I HATE seeing that red and yellow (orange?) after I’ve fixed a problem.

  5. See number 1

Still seems strange to me as I'm trained to keep all logs. I syslog all logs from hubitat to a server. I can filter easily enough. I think my current hubitat logs go back about 3 years lol.

Well then you have your server to keep them. The HE logs “rollover” so that wouldn’t work for you.

Also, does anyone know if the name of a device or app disappears from the area up above if its entries roll off the log itself? Or does it stay there is an orphan.?

I think the HTML stays there as an orphan.

Make that 6)

Also :heart:’s don’t count as votes. You vote up top!

This much doesn't need to be a concern, since you can collapse (or expand) this area using the arrows on the right, which I've circled below:

And you can still filter using the "Filter by app/device" dropdown (arrow in my screenshot above), so you don't actually lose functionality -- just a different way of doing it if the full list is a problem.

Past Logs will only show names for which there are actually log entries. Live Logs don't pull from hub log files at all (it's streamed to this page at the same time it's actually written; anything you see on screen is just what your browser has stored), so the question doesn't really apply for this case, if I'm understanding correctly. But knowing the above might be helpful if this question stems from the same concern. :slight_smile:

Two issues:

  1. To purge or not to purge? Everyone has their opinion. I would think @rlithgow1 is in the minority. The option is there, but requires a separate reboot.

  2. To offer purge option on upgrade (and maybe rollback) of firmware. Would not require a second reboot and “why not?”. <- This is what I vote for.

I would like the option to purge. The anal-ysts can keep them if they want.

If I’m having a problem, I keep them. If I’m not, I don’t need them.

Should just be a simple option.

If you want it, vote for it.

Voted the first day. May even have been the first.

I must admit to feeling... weird... over this one...

I leant into the feeling of keeping logs (and everything) lean in HE.... but then when I dabbled in HA (and I would still classify it as dabbling) and saw the beauty of more complete logs... I did absolutely nothing about it :laughing: . That is not to say I thought it was useless, or should not be something worth pursuing within HE.... just interesting my immediate gravitation towards it but lack of uptake...

My personal takeaway... (peanut chicken stir-fry, boiled jasmine rice and a serving of spring rolls)....

But seriously... Whatever suits your needs... That's my input. If you have a setup that can at times require investigation... then look at longer log retention.

Your vote doesn’t show.

Ok? :top_arrow: :top_arrow: :top_arrow: :top_arrow: :top_arrow: :top_arrow:

Being unable to vote "up" purging logs... LOL.... Sorry.... I know some really want this...