Older Z-Wave stack vs. C7's new stack

Great, so any c5 fixes going to be done?

If I'm not mistaken I was under the impression the C5 and all prior versions were EOL with the release of the C7 because of the completely new Z-Wave stack...

Or am I completely wrong on this? I still only have a C3.....

1 Like

EOL vis-a-vis the z-wave stack. There'll still be new/updated z-wave drivers, zigbee drivers (and potential stack changes), and apps.

Edit - just my opinion.

2 Likes

This is where things are confusing to me and likely others. Will there be updates to hubs prior to C7 or not. Don't piece-meal out that there will be drivers for Zigbee and maybe Z-wave and there might be Zigbee stack updates but likely not Z-Wave because of the completely different stack.

The hub is a product. Either the product gets updates or it doesn't. As a developer I know it's painful to users when something goes EOL but it's worse to string them along with yeah.. maybe... someday... EOL a product and move on. Some won't like it, most won't care and they will all move on....

2 Likes

And had it lest than 12 months and its EOL

1 Like

Isn't there sufficient evidence for an answer already? There have been multiple platform updates for the C5 and C4/C3 since the C7 was released.

5 Likes

I don't see it as complicated.

• There will continue to be platform updates for all hubs.

• There will continue to be driver updates for all hubs.

• There may/may not be updates to radios/serial interfaces in hubs prior to C7 - it just depends on what the update is/what it would take to do it.

So I think you HAVE TO piece meal/be specific on the z radio infrastructure improvement questions, as there is very different infrastructure depending on the hub version.

10 Likes