nVidia Shield/Android TV

Hi Guys,

I’m not a developer but wondering if there is anyone out there interested in porting this integration from HomeAssistant? There would be a lot cool automations that could be created, such as dimming lights when pressing play.

1 Like

Home assistant can leverage at the OS level. This is one downfall when using Hubitat to build apps or drivers.

However, something could be put together using a adb rest server such as the following.

I’d be willing to do this, but we are primarily an Apple house and have no android devices.

1 Like

Eventually the Chromecast Beta app might be enough. Google has been making changes to the way chromecast works on android tv (I just got the option to add the shield back into speaker groups today!!) This all may work by the time Google releases their new android TV/ Chromecast device.
From the little testing I did It looks like you can get the status (idle,play,pause,buffering) when you are casting to the shield, and from certain apps like youtube.
Unfortunately at this time it doesn't update the status for Prime Video, Youtube TV, and Kodi.

Prime Video App on the shield:
Screenshot 2020-06-23 at 7.46.46 PM

When casting Youtube TV from my phone.
Screenshot 2020-06-23 at 7.49.22 PM

I experimented with this myself, but to your point it only seems to update the status when you cast from your phone. Still hoping that this improves and can tell when something is playing locally. The media source is updating, just not the status.

1 Like

Is there any method to know if the shield (chromecast) is playing media from the box and not pushed from a chromecast device?

1 Like

I found this thread while searching for Nvidia Shield integrations.
Not to derail the original question, but at a more basic level, is there a way to turn the Shield ON and OFF using Hubitat?
Google Assistant recognizes the device and can turn it on/off, but not sure how to do it with Hubitat.

Thanks

1 Like