Node-Red

This looks interesting. Apparently people are using this for programming home automation devices:

https://nodered.org/

Anyone using this here?

1 Like

This is on my to-learn list. I have a friend that swears by it and from what I've read, it's seems like an awesome addition to HA especially if you are using a Rpi in your mix. Simply haven't had the time or need (yet) to dive into that rabbit hole. I'm still lost in a few others at the moment.

2 Likes

Used it when trying to use Home Assistant.
It was nice but not as obvious as WebCoRE.
I guess I just didn't think the way it was displayed.

I've installed it on a Synology NAS using Docker, but that is as far as I have gotten from a hands on standpoint. I'm not very good with these things. The few video tutorials I have attempted to view seem fixated on using it to filter out Twitter posts and compile them into a database. I'm not sure why anyone would want to do that, but perhaps I am missing something.

I use it to query my ubiquiti controller for mac addresses that I use for presence.

I have spent some time with it. It is like tasker for your pi. Very easy interface where you string together what you want. I use it for my broadlink. There is some cool stuff to be done with Alexa as well.

I use it extensively for mapping and translating MQTT topics between devices. Plus there are a lot of interesting and useful add in nodes for it.

Node red and RESTful API's are big in the cottage IoT industry. They solve a lot of interoperability problems.

Care to share how you’re doing this?