Newbie Rule Machine - Toggle Switch Set-up

G'Day! Complete Newbie Rule Machine question coming in.

I have about 10 Simple Automated Rules and I'm trying to use Rule Machine (again) and am getting frustrated.

I have an Ikea zigbee plug hooked up to an aquarium surface skimmer (a pump). I want it to do two things:
1 - toggle on/off every 15 minutes (so that if a shrimp gets sucked into it, they can escape)
2 - turn completely off for an hour (when the automatic feeder drops in the food, so it also doesn't get sucked into the pump)

I have managed to do the two things separately, but not in one toggle Rule that takes a pause. Help!

Just a word of input. When you start combining a bunch of logic together, your rules get very complex and your run the risk of slow downs and lock ups. KISS is the best way. Separate rules is how I would actually run this automation. What you want to do can be done, but if it's not broken, don't fix it.

2 Likes

Having two rules is not a bad thing. Unless your saying they conflict. I often use multiple rules when I cannot get the logic right.

@april.brandt no fair you type too fast :laughing:

2 Likes

The benefit is just that. You know what each rule is hitting on instead of having to go in and troubleshoot when there are problems. Rules are free. And they will process better with simple logic in simple automations wherever possible. And that's where most of my rules are sitting.

1 Like

won't the toggle rule will overwrite the shutdown during meal time? I'm worried that 15 minutes after the shutdown, the pump will toggle back on.

set a condition to account for that

you can pause a rule for 1 hour if the food drops then re-enstate

I'm not at all worried about KISS. I couldn't find a way to START/END the toggle rule.

Ugh. My brain is hurting right now!!

yeah that was my concern to You would need to have them run during different times