Newbie needs advice for new house

Hello all!

I'm a newbie to home automation, and am building a new house. Hope to pour by the first of the year, weather permitting.

I think Hubitat is the way to go for me, as I'm into reliability and have years of programming experience, though not in home automation.

But I'm a bit overwhelmed by the devices offered. If you care to join the fray, what advice can you offer as to approaches to automation, house wiring, wifi (currently use google mesh), favorite devices/features or any other aspect. Whatever is automated will be used by me and my non-technological wife, so ease of user interface for her is critical.

I am a Hubitat owner and hope to be making some contributions in the future.

Sorry if this is the wrong forum; if so, let me know and I'll repost elsewhere.

Best,

Kerry

1 Like

I personally prefer z-wave devices, I like that it users a lower freq then zigbee and not in the range of WiFi, I have had my wifi and Hue system interfere.

As far as having a non-technical house hold member, Use smart switches instead of bulbs, in general switches just work. Smart bulbs do not provide the same behavior that non-techies expect.

I use Leviton z-waves, I dont want switches that need the WiFi and hub working, For many switches you will need neutrals in the boxes or use incandescent and some CFLs, without the neutrals I have had LEDs that would always be dim with a smart switch.

You should also investigate Lutron, Love the Pico remotes. Since your building new try to place wifi and hubs in a central location. I'd also hardwire network from there to TV, pc and game system locations to take the heavy bandwidth users off of wifi.

Thanks! I appreciate your help!

Got it, thanks!