Newbie help with inconsistent light rule

I currently have a simple lighting rule to turn on the dinning room lights when motion is detected and to turn off after 1 minutes of no motion detected. My desired outcome is to have the lights stay on for 30 minutes or so during dinner time (which is never the same time everyday). Being a noob i don't have any physical buttons nor have I set up a permanent dashboard to trigger this rule/scene. Is there a good way to utilize RM and possibly IFTTT through Alexa or better avenue to recommend. Thanks for your help in advance!

You can set a a virtual switch when on to disable the rule for the 30 minutes and use Alexa to turn it on.

Thanks, thatā€™s exactly what I was hoping and trying/failing to do! Is there a decent walk through you could point me towards?

I don't use Alexa but you should just create a virtual switch and expose it through the Echo skill/App and then use it in the restrictions section of the simple lighting to disable it.
The HE documentation has how to set up Alexa if you haven't already.

1 Like

I havenā€™t done that yet but I soon will. Thanks for the help. This should convince the wife to let me all my automation gadgets!

So Iā€™m still too green to get this rule working correctly. I have created the virtual switch and I have found it on my Alexa app. She will turn on all lights and groups in the house, except for the virtual switch.

At this point Iā€™m even good putting a button on the dashboard and manually enabling the rule, but I canā€™t even get that to work correctly. I canā€™t seem to get the VS to respond on the dashboard, but if I run the actions manually inside RM, it just turns on all lights and they go out after 1 minute of no motion.

Thanks again for all help, seems like I need quite a bit

What brand switch is your light switch?

For my basement, I use the double tap function of the switch. Double tap up, pauses the motion rule, and double tap dow, resumes it.