New user looking for reliable brands. What do you trust?

Black Friday deals are almost upon us. I'm new to the Hubitat system and I'm looking for a reliable brand or two for:

Plugs
Blinds
Light and fan switches

Basically anything else. What do you suggest? I'm sure there's something i never would've considered.

Thank you!

Edit: or maybe there's something that works make my dumb device smart?

Right now I prefer z-wave.

1 Like

Lights and fan switches:
My go-to are Inovelli. They have the Zigbee Blue Series and Z-Wave Red Series. Both of these work very well. They have tons of features and are extremely versatile.
I also have some Lutron that require the Lutron Pro 2 Hub. They are simple but just work - always.
Finally, Zooz have some very good switches as well that are very reliable.

Motion Sensors:
My go-to are the Smart Things and Hue motion sensors.
If I need to also have Humidity integrated, I like the Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 (the newer ones) and the larger ZSE11. I like this last one because it can be connected directly to power - no battery required.

Contact Sensors:
I really like the Ring v2 contact sensors. They just work well and consistently.

1 Like

Zooz is darn hard to beat for z-wave gear in terms of balancing a wide catalog, reasonable prices, device features, and support.

Zooz support itself is responsive, and they do a good job with maintaining firmware & documentation. And their stuff is well-supported by community developers here in Hubitat.

The Smartest House is actually Zooz's own storefront, although they sell other brands there too. I expect they'll have some Black Friday deals going up soon.