New to Hubitat - hook function to virtual button / switch

Hi guys, so i'm new to Hubitat, got it yesterday. I have most of my devices moved over and a lot of simple automation and Rule Machine work in place thanks to these forums and the drivers contained within! Seems like a great community!

Now that most thing are in place i'm starting to tweak small things. one thing is i'm not sure how to hook a function to a virtual switch. So i created a virtual switch, I went into rule machine and selected it as my trigger event, however I can't find a way to access the device attribute i'm looking for? It's simple enough, I want to tell Alexa to pause the TV in the living room. I have used the custom driver to create my Sony TV as a device, as the TV in the living room is one year too old for direct Alexa intergration. All I wanted to do was expose a virtual switch to Alexa for the action "pause" from the driver. I can see and activate the pause function from the device page. But in general I just wanted to know how to access those function that I know are programmed within Rule Machine?

Sorry for the rambling post, i've been deep in smart home rules for 24 hours!

you need to look for custom action or custom attribute within RM (depending on what you are trying to find).

you can also create local variables and "connectors" in RM instead of virtual devices these are essentially the same but i prefer to use them for use cases like this, as they are directly built in RM.

Hey @BorrisTheCat quick related question...

I thought I remembered reading somewhere that the local variables required a bit more execution time (i want to say a measly 20ms) than virtual switches. I assume I am mis remembering or have which is faster backwards.

Do you by chance know for sure, or do you have better luck with the forum search than me and can point me to clarifying info on this?