New to HSM

This is actually two questions regarding HSM. I've been using my Hubitat for over 2 years, but I recently began using HSM with an Ecolink smoke/ CO alarm listener. I did see the notice that HSM is not a security device and should not be used as such but I'm curious about the workings of HSM and why is it different than say, Rule Machine which could be programmed with many of the same commands. Is HSM a more robust partition in the operating system or does it run faster or have a higher priority in the Hubitat system? My second question is a feature request in HSM. I would like to use the HSM Alert mode as a condition to trigger a light or siren for a general safety alert fault. It seems I'm not the only one who would like this feature as I have seen it already mentioned in the community.
Best Regards:
Bryan

That is really a note about the platform in general. HSM is just an app and isn't different from other apps in any of the ways you are wondering about, though it's likely the easiest and most popular way to do this kind of thing.

The point is that Hubitat is not a security or life safety system and should not be relied on for that purpose. You can use apps like HSM to create automations approximating one (at your own risk) or to enhance an existing system, though Hubitat itself should not be be considered one--is the intent of the note (which has long been documented but was recently added to the app UI in response to a confused user, IIRC).

Regarding the second question, it seems like this is already possible, though you'll likely need a rule or custom app.

2 Likes

Thanks for the quick reply. I was wondering what made HSM unique compared to the other rule making apps in Hubitat. As far as the second question I believe I've looked at every possible conditional trigger in each rule app and HSM ALERT does not seem to be present. The various HSM arm and disarm modes are there but not the alert mode.
Best Regards:
Bryan