New setup issues right out of the box - disappointing User Experience

Well, this is my first time setting up a Hubitat, and all I can say is, right off the bat this thing has an absolutley terrible User Experience compared with other products out there.

I'm by no means a novice user, but simply COULD NOT get this thing to function, even after viewing several forum self help solutions (which, non-technical users should really never be faced with in their journey). Apparently I'm not the only person with the same issues getting started with the device. Not very reassuring.

Connecting the hub directly to the router, the light turns green, but then the app simply won't discover it in simple or advanced find mode.

Tried resetting the device, nothing. Tried rebooting the router and resetting the device, nothing.

So I switched to trtying it on a local PC, reset again, rebooted PC... this time I still get nothing on find, but I did notice that 'hubitat.local' seemed to know something was there, but couldn't diplay it (while the light was blue). Once the light turned green, I get 'This page isn’t working
hubitat.local didn’t send any data'.

This seems like a lot of initial screwing around for a device.

1 Like

You're right that it shouldn't be this difficult, and it normally isn't. So, it seems something might be wrong with your hub or perhaps network.