New 2021 topic on ceiling fan controls - Everything on the market is too limited!

So far I have found only one 4 speed fan control on the market that I would trust that is compatible with HA is the Lutron Caseta and it has a serious problem with speed level "3". The distance between level "2" and level "3" is too close and the distance between level "3" and level "4" is too far. If speed "3" was at the right level this controller might be more functional.

I don't understand why all of the manufacturers limit the smart control of fan speeds to 3 levels. I have a fan in my office/lab at home with three extremely bright LED lights (150 watt equivalent) on a Lutron dimmer which work great for the lighting but for the fan I can only get 3 speeds in the Z-wave or Zigbee arena and 4 that don't work right from Lutron. Hampton bay used to have what looks like a decent controller but it is no longer available.

I believe that the fan speed is phase controlled and as an engineer I am very close to spending the time to design a control box, but that will have to sit up in the attic or in a closet somewhere due to the size I would have to hand build it at.

Please, someone come up with a 6 speed or variable speed fan control that works with HA (and subsequently the competitors)!

Then you know that the problem is the inductance of the motor windings varies all over the place, manufacturer to manufacturer, lot run to lot run. Equally, cheap capacitors are +-20%.

Those two values determine the speed. You'll void the warranty on the Lutron device, but you can swap out the middle speed cap.

Definitely following as I've been in search of same for my radon fan. The limited options of 25%, 50%, and 100% found in the Jasco smart fan controls result in way too little vacuum pressure or full blast.