Nesting Parent/Child Apps like Group and Scenes or Rule Machine

I apologize as I am new to the Hubitat platform. I am trying to figure out how to install a "Master" app and then install "Child" apps and have it appear in Hubitat like the Group and Scenes or Rule Machine app does?

Thanks in advance!

Can I assume you're writing a custom app? (If you're dealing with a built-in app, you're stuck with whatever structure it provides; if you're using or writing a custom app, you can certainly code it to do whatever, though if it's someone else's app, I'd beware if you ever want to upgrade it.)

If so, what you'll need to do is provide a way for a user to create a new child app. Here is a minimal example of a preference page inside an app that can do what you're looking for:

// ...
preferences {
  page(name: "pageMain", title: "My App", install: true, uninstall: true) {
    section("My Section") {
      paragraph "Hey, this is my app!"
      app name: "myChildApps", appName: "My Child App Name", namespace: "MyNamespace", title: "Add new child app", multiple: true
      input name: "mySensors", type: "capability.motionSensor", title: "Choose motion sensor(s), multiple: true
    }
  }
}
// ...

The key is the app line you see above (I included an input too so you can see that it's basically the same idea, if you're familiar with that--you would probably not need to actually include anything like that if you parent app is more or less just a container). This creates a button that will instantiate a new child app instance. As you can probably infer, this assumes you also have an app whose metadata looks something like this--or whatever you pass to app in the example above:

definition(
   name: "My Child App Name",
   namespace: "MyNamespace",      
   parent: "MyNamespace:Parent App Name", // <-- must include! (adjust as needed)
   // ....