Need some help with a rule :/

Hey Guys,

I am new to Hubitat and home automation and was looking to see if anyone could please help me. I come from Smartthings (Webcore) but never had anything super advance since the hub never worked or had delays or was down. With that said I am sticking to using Rule Machine and all the built in apps on the Hubitat since my rules are all basic. So what I am trying to accomplish here is, when my garage is open, I want the current state of the selected lights to be saved, then the lights to dim up and down as long as the garage is opened, once the garage closes; I want the lights to return back to their original states: example if they were off, then return to off etc. For some reason I cannot get this to work, I am sure it is because I am a rookie and I am doing something wrong. Any help you guys can provide would be great. Thank you so much!

Here is what I have so far.

Two things I see. You can delete both IF garage door lines in the rule. You don't need the first IF Garage Door open. The rule would not execute unless the garage door is open because that is your trigger. You also don't need the IF door closed END REP. You are using a while so once the door closes it will no longer repeat.

I would start with those two changes and see how it goes.

Also both of your IFs are missing the END IFs, FYI. I think you should delete both but in future if you have an IF you need an END IF.

1 Like

Thanks a bunch, already learned a few things from you. I am not home to test but it should look like this right?

As for the "End IFs" good to know I have a few rules with ifs and I don't have "End IF's" probably the reason they don't work.

1 Like

Looks good. I have not used the capture and restore function in any of my automations so not sure how that will work. Might have to play with your delays, but the rule looks correct.

1 Like

Dang if this works, I am going to be stoked! Thanks a ton. I am glad people like you are on the forum.