Need help with my first basic rule for lighting

I am new to Hubitat and I want to start making rules for my lighting. I am trying to make a rule that sets the brightness to 100% if you press the on button while it is not at full brightness. How do I get the physical button as a trigger? I can only figure out how to trigger when it is switched on (from off) which doesn't help. Thanks for the help. :slight_smile:

It depends on your device. Many newer Z-Wave devices send "central scenes" (product marketing may mention this) on physical taps, which will usually get interpreted as a button event on the Hubitat side of things. Keeping "Logs" open and looking when you do this or looking at "Events" on the device and after the fact will tell you for sure. If nothing else, share the model of device you have and the driver you're using, and someone can probably tell you if it's possible.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. I am using a Leviton smart switch DZ6HD with dimmer. I checked the logs and there is only an entry after a button press when the state changes. I don't see anything if it is already on and I press the on button.

I found the debug logs and now when I press on when it is already on I can see this. Can I do anything with this?

It looks like the first is a SwitchMultiLevel report (basically saying "here is my new dimmer level") and the latter a Hail...which actually might be indicative of a physical press, but I can never remember exactly what devices use that for. Someone more familiar with Z-Wave and perhaps this particular device will have to comment on if/how that might be useful.