My z-wave frustrations - mesh issues?

So maybe my headline is harsh, but here is my story.

I am quite new to Hubitat (3 months). I started with Zigbee devices stupidly (I now know) with battery powered Sonoff sensors, then added powered plugs and bulbs (replacing WiFi smart ones which were causing problems congesting my WiFi network). I'm up to 36 devices and never had more than a 0.5 second delay on anything activating from motion, button press or other event. Works brilliantly.

I have recently added some z-wave devices which comprise two Aeotec Nano Dimmer modules and one Heatit Z-TRM3. I have had nothing but trouble with the devices. They communicate slowly, They do not respond to commands from the hub. I am currently only able to control all 3 devices using local switches or controls, and have no clear way of sorting this out.

There seems to be no logic as to how the devices talk to each other (the TRM would not pair unless another device was on the network, like it will not talk directly to the hub, and the other two paired seamlessly but it always seems to be the device furthest from the hub which is "DIRECT".

Please can someone provide me with a simple guide to work out why something so simple is so unreliable. Or should I just give up and find Zigbee replacements?

#rantover #veryfrustrated #sorry

All your signals are negative numbers.. You need more mains powered devices in the path..

2 Likes

In my opinion, yes mostly. Zigbee is just better. Less trouble connecting. Secure out of the box without fuss. Consistent global frequency so no need to worry about what device to buy. Fast(er, for motion). Cheap(er, generally).

Ok,these are generalisations and of course there are exceptions and some great Z-Wave plus devices. I have a few. But overall I much prefer Zigbee.

8 Likes

:+1: I second the sentiment

1 Like

Or if the hub is buried in a cabinet or network rack, move it to an open area with less interference.

3 Likes