Motion Sensor Rule Fails [SOLVED]

I installed a generic Zigbee motion-sensor, CentraLite model: 3326-L, in a room. I set up a simple rule to turn on two LIFX bulbs when motion is sensed. It worked flawlessly until a recent update. Now, it fails to turn on the bulbs but will trigger other actions. I've tried to do some diagnostics and found that:

1. Changing the rule to a simple notification instead of a "lights on" action works.
  2. The bulbs can be turned on within the device attribute screen
  3. Changing the rule to a "lights on" action instead of notification only, fails.
  4. A different brand motion sensor in another room with a similar rule still works fine.

I have rebooted the hub with no improvement. I'm a new HE user so I am still learning. Should I try removing and re-pairing the motion sensor and start from scratch?

If you feel comfortable, sharing a screenshot of your rule might help. It sounds like you've done a lot of reasonable troubleshooting (making sure the motion sensor itself accurately reports events and making sure you can control the lights from the device page). It's odd that an update would have broken this, but there have been changes to Motion Lighting (if that's the kind of "rule" you're using) in the last couple hotfixes.

1 Like

I don't mind posting a screenshot of my rule, but I am stuck now because I removed the sensor from the available resources to try reinstalling from scratch. I set the motion sensor back to factory settings and tried rediscovering it. My HE finds the device, starts initializing it, but never finishes. I tried shutting down the hub, pulling the power for a bit, re-powering it, and starting the discovery process from scratch. It still finds it, but fails to complete initialization.