Motion sensor after sunset ONLY

I am new to Hubitat, I cannot figure out how to do an automation, the automation requirements are simple.

I only want the Trisensor motion detection to be active from sunrise to sunset go turn on the shed light.

My setup is I have a Trisensor that detects motion and turns on my shed external lights. It is connected as follows

Trisensor motion -> Alexa -> SonOff light switch.

I hope someone can help

Welcome to HE and to the community!

Can you expand on this a bit? It sounds as if your Sonoff light switch is paired to Alexa rather than to HE? If so is it a zigbee lightswitch or wifi?

1 Like

Yes that is correct the SonOff light switch is WiFi based

There are probably a couple of ways to get this to work, but honestly the easiest way is to use switches that are natively compatible with HE (which are usually not wifi) and use a basic rule or the room lighting app to do it.

https://docs2.hubitat.com/en/devices/list-of-compatible-devices

If you want to try something to make use of your current Sonoff switch (not really what I recommend) you could:

(1) See if someone has written an interface for this Sonoff switch. If there is an open API someone might have done it. If there is and you can control the Sonoff switch directly from Hubitat something like the basic automation app would work. Your best bet is to search the forums here. I did find a couple of references to switches but not sure if there's actually a working integration.