Motion Lighting Resettable Timer

I've been using HA stuff since the days of X10 and have used timers, flags etc to control motion lighting, to great success even if I do say so myself but I'm new to Hubitat so I am not sure how to accomplish what I am looking to do in that platform.

And, I've failed to find a simple answer though I'm sure there is one or, hope there is.

This gets complex in how I do things as you layer this but, to be as basic as I can what I'm trying to build is a motion triggered lights on with a timer (mode/flags/virtual switch to set the lighting mode) so I would have something like the following without all the conditional stuff:

If: YYY sensor goes on
Then: Turn on XXX lamps
Start XXX timer
Else:
Reset XXX timer

In effect, this turns on the lights, starts a timer and if motion is seen again the timer reset these lights stay on. I think I've figured out most of the other simple conditions I'd need.

Separately if the timer reaches zero, the lights go off. I need to work that one out as well.

There's probably a way to do this, I'm just not seeing it or finding it as I can't find any timers as such other than ones that are fixed so, they'd just run down and do whatever when they expire.

But specific creatable timers for a specific application like this I've failed to find so any pointers I'd appreciate.

Thank you.

K.

Good questions. Most built-in apps handle the timer cancelation on their own. The Rule Machine gives you more control over how the rule handles the timer, however, for the specific use case that you highlighted, I would use Basic Rules.

Here is an example of a Basic Rule that turns a light on, when the motion activates, then off when the motion stops for 15 minutes.

If motion reactivates within the 15 minutes period, the app cancels the timer automatically, for you:

BONUS this rule only triggers between 21 minutes after sunset and 30 min before sunrise, so that the lights only come on when it's really dark outside.