Motion Disable When Lights Manually Turned On

Hi All,
I'm new to the Hubitat world. I have been using ISY994i with an all Insteon system for a few years. With the imminent demise (seemingly) of Insteon, I decided it was time for something more open, and Z-wave looked good to me. After that, I settled on Hubitat, since it looked like it might be similar in capabilites to ISY994i. So far I'm impressed with how much easier some things are.

But, I'm stuck trying to program something that I feel should be pretty basic. I have one light switch controlling one light, and a Z-wave motion sensor. I want to add motion sensing to the light (easy), but also have an override via the switch, whereas, if you turn on the light via the switch, it should stay on until switched off. This is a typical scenario for a porch light. Once manually turned off, motion sensing would resume.

I'm using the Motion Lighting App, and I thought one of the built in functions would do the trick, but I can't seem to get this to work. Maybe I'm missing something simple. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Welcome refugee, I believe rule machine 5.1 could do what you want. Try searching the forum, I'm fairly certain someone has already figured it out

I have done this with a basement light. What I ended up doing is using a switch that had double taps. Those double taps turn on a virtual switch using one rule. Double tap up turns on the virtual switch, and double tap off turns it off.

Then use that virtual switch in the Motion Lighting app "additional switches to keep on" or whatever that exact setting is called. If the virtual switch is on, lights stay on. If virtual switch is off, the Motion Lighting works like normal.

I think the problem is that you can't use the same switch for the override as for the normal light. By using the double taps/virtual switch you can get around that.

1 Like