Mesh network upkeep during power outage

Good day to all, newbie here again...... a couple of things. I am designing my home security into Hubitat, i only have a couple of zoOZ switches around which works fine for repeating my Z-wave network.

1. i have alot of glass windows so i am planning to use Utilitech glass break sensors throughout the 3 levels, about 12 total
    2 Motion sensors, zoOZ ZSE 18 and 29, about 8
    3 siren zoOZ ZSE 19, about 2

All these great items do not have repeaters so if there is a power loss how do i keep the mesh up as not to lose monitoring?

I hear the Ring Range Extenders (Gen 2) are good for this. They have a battery backup that will allow them to keep the mesh up for a while without power.

2 Likes

The problem is that other mains-connected devices, which also act as repeaters and which lack battery backup, will go offline during a power failure. Because we have no way to control mesh routing, battery-powered devices (motion sensors, contact sensors, door/window sensors) that route through mains-powered repeaters, will have no way to communicate with the hub, even if the hub and all switches and router are on a UPS.

Don’t get me wrong, I think the Ring Extender 2 devices are the best repeaters out there right now, and I have 4 of them; one, with a Rule and notifications, lets me know when the garage power drops because the GFCI breaker trips, causing the freezer to lose power.

But you might want to do a test with power off to see what happens.

Actually, the Zooz ZSE18 is a repeater if you pair it when it's powered via USB (and keep it that way, since it will eat batteries way too fast if switched then). See: Add Your ZSE18 Motion Sensor as Signal Repeater on USB Power - Zooz Support Center. The ZSE29 can also be powered via USB, but what I've heard about it makes me think it wouldn't be a repeater regardless.