Matter bridge, pretty please?

I've been using HubiThings Replica for a good while & have also been a huge fan of Matter.

Adding Matter bridge support for Hubitat would eliminate the need for things like Hubithings, and would make the platform incredibly powerful (it has such amazing device compatibility, and all those devices would become Matter devices)

Is this planned (please say yes)?

I'm a software engineer at Google on the Android Matter team (I joined because I'm a fan of Matter, not the other way around), so if I can be of any help.... let me know.

7 Likes

I can't answer your request; but might I ask a question since your a Matter fan?

Can you explain in simple what Matter is? I've read a number of articles and most of what they say doesn't matter (pun intended).

From what I glean Matter is:

• An interface specification like Z-Wave (conceptually not actually) that will work with any radio protocol.

• It probably has a higher level of error checking and communication that current protocols. But still a software specification.

• It likely has some binding code to connect it to different radios (i.e. WiFi, Zigbee, Bluetooth, Z-Wave,...... etc). Perhaps a hardware abstraction layer of some sort.

Am I even close?

Thanks
John

2 Likes

Not quite any radio protocol. Matter is an IPv6 based protocol that works over Ethernet, WiFi, and Thread. It does not natively support Z-wave or Zigbee. It is designed to replace both of them. Some vendors, like Hue and Aqara, are adding Matter Bridge support to their hubs to allow their Zigbee networks to work with Matter.

IIRC, Bluetooth is only used by Matter as part of the device discovery and onboarding process.

Yes, it is designed by a large consortium of major players (Apple, Google, Amazon, plus many others.) As such, they have incorporated improved security and encryption.