Making the leap into Hubitat

I have a half dozen Lutron Caseta in-wall switches. My hub isn't the pro so in addition to the HE I also ordered a Lutron pro hub.

I also have some Hue bulbs, and some Amazon Echos and Shows (but not the ones that function as hubs).

The reason I am moving to Hubitat is the configuration options on the Hue smart dimmer and Hue smart button are atrocious. Can't even do simple things like "1 press = 50%" "2nd press =75%" etc and, of course it would mean mounting it on the wall next to the existing in-wall switch. Poor solution IMO.

I get the gist of Hubitat, the rule engine etc. I'm a programmer so I don't expect any issues understanding it.

Redoing the bedroom and it has a Lutron Caseta in wall dimmer that controls one outlet. I want to add wall sconces across the room with Hue bulbs, and have the Lutron dimmer control them.

Any basic things anyone thinks I should know or be prepared for, the advice will be greatly appreciated.

Lutron Caseta is definitely my go-to switch and I have dozens of them. I do wonder about using a Lutron dimmer to control an outlet. I'm not an electrician by any means but it seems like that might lead to issues if someone, say, plugs a vacuum cleaner into that outlet.

I would keep you hue bulbs on your hue hub and use the hue integration for HE to control them. Devices like dimmers can be (and I think should be) directly paired to HE. Until recently the Hue integration with HE has relied strictly on HE polling the Hue hub. If a device talking to a Hue hub made a change to a Hue light it would take at least one polling interval for HE to figure out something had changed. Some of the newer integrations do not work this way and may yield more immediate results.

1 Like

I wired the outlet (that the Lutron dimmer controls) so that it's only the top outlet that it controls and I always have a light plugged into it. But you're right, an iron or something might fry it, especially if you tried to dim it.