Lutron Pico to Control Hue Bulbs

Hi, I'm new to HE. I will be migrating from ST in the near future. I have a little over 50 Lutron devices and another 35 Hue devices and about 75 z-wave devices and about 20 Zigby devices, so I'm not looking forward to all the exclusions I'm going to be doing in the near future. Anyway, I wanted to see what I could expect from the Lutron and Hue integration. I liked the idea of using Pico's being exposed in the HE environment and able to control hue lights. The localized nature of HE was also very attractive. I set up one Lutron Pico with a new Lutron Pro Hub and integrated HE with my Hue hub as well. I used rule machine to set up buttons to set the lights to a particular temperature and brightness. All seems to work, but I have noticed an annoying lag between when the buttons are pressed and when the lights respond. About half of the time, it is small, maybe 0.5 to 1 second, but about half the time, it is longer and not infrequently, it won't work and I have to press it again and then it works.

Based on the lack of seeing people complain about this issue when I searched the community, I'm guessing that this isn't the expected behavior. Perhaps my expectations were a little too lofty though. I was thinking that the latency would be almost none like the Lutron connected bulb remote (I know the LCBR connects directly to the lights, so it is slightly more direct, but I didn't think the local lag would be noticeable). Can anyone advise about how this connection in HE usually works and also if there are common mistakes in my setup that I likely made?