Lutron Pico -> Chromecast Integration

I'm new to the HE and admittedly this is probably not the best first project but I AM having some mixed success but am not quite there yet.

The goal is basically trying to have a Pico control Chromecast Audio volume and possibly a few other basic functions, pause, play, etc. Our current audio setup in our outdoor areas is: Spotify -> CCA -> Amplifier -> wired outdoor speakers. My wife would like to be able to control volume via a pico to take a phone call or whatever even if I am the one "driving" the music. A reasonable request.

I HAVE successfully had the HE intercept Pico volume controls and I have even been able to route those pico controls through the Chromecast Integration app to control the volume of a Google Nest hub which also happen to be playing Spotify music so I know I am doing at least most of this successfully. The Chromecast Audio however does not respond at all and the pico inputs has no affect on it.

Any ideas? I am pretty sure this would work with a Sonos amp but I'm trying to avoid that simply to be able to control volume via a pico.

It should work while music or something is playing. It doesn't seem to do anything when idle. On a google nest display it will work anytime.

That has been my experience anyway. I use a pico to control the volume and play / pause on my pool speakers with a chromecast audio, works pretty well.
I also use one to control a nest hub max in my kitchen, That works perfectly.

1 Like

Still no dice. I have the same Pico trigger events running the action on both devices (custom rule -> actuator -> volumeUp() & volumeDown(). Works fine on the Nest Hub and no response on the CCA. Tried both Spotify and Pandora as music sources cast from my phone as well as cast from the Nest Hub via voice command. Running out of ideas to try.

Edit: I'll also add that the CCA does not respond to volume adjustments via the Hubitat Dashboard either while the Nest Hub does.