Lights turning on by themselves with Inovelli Red dimmer

Hello Hubitat users!

I'm new to Hubitat and home automation in general. My goal is to have my bathroom light wall switch turn the lights on to 30% brightness from about 8pm to 8am, and at full brightness outside that time block.

After some reading, I concluded that a smart dimmer was the preferable and less expensive route compared to smart bulbs, so I now have an Inovelli LZW31-SN which I'm using with 'dumb' Feit and Cree LED bulbs. No neutral, no Aeotec resistor, and all 4 bulbs consume about 47 watts at full brightness.

The brightness automation I'm kinda getting down, but my biggest problem right now is that some of the bulbs turn on by themselves. There are 3 60W Feit bulbs in a fixture over the mirror, and one Cree 100W bulb in the exhaust vent. They all dim fine, no buzzing or flickering, but the right and left bulbs in the fixture turn on about 5 minutes after the switch shuts everything off (center bulb stays off). They're faint though, something like 10% brightness I'm guessing.

I've excluded, removed, and factory reset the switch several times now with no different result, and it's always the same two bulbs. Even with the dimmer in totally factory default state, not paired to the HE, no luck.

Anyone have any ideas of what's going on here?

Turn the lights on, then pull out the AirGap switch on the bottom edge of the switch.

What I'm thinking is that without a neutral, the capacitance is holding some of the lights on.

If it does it with the Airgap too, then yep, you'll need to bleed off that voltage.. a resistor is in your future (or wiring in a neutral.)

1 Like

If this is a no neutral situation.. You may need a bypass..

https://inovelli.com/wp-content/uploads/LZW31-SN/Wiring-Guide-Dimmers.pdf

2 Likes

I've had this conversation with @anon89238910 and more times than not, you'll need a resistor. When I inquired about them he said don't wonder about it. Buy one.

[EDIT]