Lights on at sunset, but off at a set time

Apologies as I'm a newb... I am trying to set some lights to come on at sunset, but turn off at 11p. I am totally turned around by the rules machine, so I tried simple lighting, but I can only find the ability to also turn them off at sunrise.

any thoughts?

I think a rule like this should do what you want:

Explanation - the rule has two "certain time" triggers: Sunset and 11:00PM. There is one condition (Time is Sunset).

When the rule is triggered, if it is sunset, then the lights come at the specified color/level. When the rule is triggered at any other time, the lights are turned off.

5 Likes

Use sunset as a trigger for a RM4
turn on lights
wait for events when time is 11pm
turn off lights

No IF statements required

6 Likes

As I'm sure you are now realising there are lots of ways to skin a cat. :wink:

3 Likes

This is amazing, you guys solved this question, and I'm pretty sure what would have been my next question. Thanks!

1 Like

Just a dumb question here, but if you happen to reboot the HE after sunset but before the wait till time, will the lights turn off at the appropriate time still, Or is the wait then interrupted and now you must wait until the next trigger event until the wait can be restarted (in other words, the light would say on all night and into the next day until the next sunset then triggers the on command then the wait period starts again).

You are correct that if the hub reboots, the wait time will probably not carry over. Myself, I just use two simple lighting rules, one to turn it on at sunset, one to turn it off at 11pm. Also @aaiyar 's solution should work over a reboot.

1 Like

...if you happen to reboot the HE after sunset but before the wait till time, will the lights turn off at the appropriate time still,