Kitchen bulb suggestions

I've been lurking and searching a bit, and can't really find an answer to this so I figured I'd better just ask. :slight_smile:

We have exactly "zero" home automation. We've remodeled our kitchen recently, and tomorrow an electrician is going to run wiring for 4 can lights in our vaulted ceiling.

I'm liking the HE device...I've been an IT professional for 29 years, so I'm into security, and haven't bothered with home automation because it all seems to end up in the cloud. I like the thought of a local device hooked to my LAN that I can VPN into if I for some reason need access from outside the house. That led me to Hubitat.

So: I want to simply start out with 4 LED can lights, a dimmable, wired wall switch, and an HE device.

What can lighting and/or bulbs would you suggest?

Bonus would be for lighting I can pick up locally, at a box store / hardware / home improvement store. Today. :smile:

Thanks!

If you want to go "smart bulbs" you can't go wrong with Seglend they will interface with HE directly without the need for an additional bridge. You should be able to pick them up at your local Best Buy. Philips Hue are also excellent but are more expensive and require a Hue bridge to best interface with HE, but it's not very expensive and comes with many of the "starter kits". You would need to install a e26 style receptacle for either of these unless you went the direction of Hue and purchased their "retrofit led downlight" which could be direct wired (also available through best buy). Make sure you don't install these on a dimmer and it's best to install some type of "child lock" on the switch so nobody turns them off accidently and prevents HE from communicating with them.